Karen Armstrong’s Question to the Prophet Muhammad

The BBC World Service’s World Today programme asked a number of high-profile figures what they would ask if they could ask just one question – and who they would put it to. Karen Armstron has a question for the Prophet (as).

Karen Armstrong is a leading religious historian.

I’d like to ask the Prophet Muhammad what he thinks of the current situation.

I think I know what he would say, but I would like Western people to hear the Prophet’s abhorrence of these actions done in his name, abhorrence with the intolerance and hatred and violence that he dedicated his life to transcending.

I’d also like to hear him tell Muslims who believe that he would have endorsed these vile actions to look more seriously at the compassion of the Koran.

As for the West, he would say: ‘Look at the message of the Koran’ – which is all about treating all people equally, and that includes my Muslims in disadvantaged parts of the world who are struggling to make sense of lives in violent and hopeless situations.

1 Comment

Filed under Islam & Modernity, Miscellaneous

One response to “Karen Armstrong’s Question to the Prophet Muhammad

  1. I HAD A DREAM OF THE LORD PUTTING OUT FIRES IN MY LIFE. I REMEMBER HIM COMING
    BACK TO PUT OUT THE LAST BIT OF FIRES AFTER I CALLED HIM AND SAID THERE WAS STILL SOME LEFT I WONDER IF I’M STILL NOT PUTTING MY FAITH HIM AFTER HE ALREADY SHOWED ME THAT HE WOULD. I HAVE BEEN PRAYING FOR HIM TO FREE ME OF MY DEBT SO I COULD FULLY DEVOTE MY LIFE TO HIM.

Leave a Reply

